Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit

Welcome Spring!

3 Comments

Introducing my latest Bobble Totem, Spring!

Spring! 2012 Amy A. Crawley

Spring’s head is from the collection of heads that reside on my work table. He’s been patiently waiting several years for a body. His coat is a faux malachite cane. I took thin slices off the cane, applied them to a backing sheet, and added the other canes and seed beads for accent.

His birdy friend looks a bit like a robin doesn’t it? The bird was made with white clay and colored with alcohol inks. Spring! is another piece that that was created intuitively. I let the color of Spring’s! jade green face guide me in creating his body/coat. He hung out on my work table for a few days while we talked about how to finish him. The recent spate of warm days and singing birds must have spoke to both of us. Thankfully his friend is well-trained and promises not to leave a gift on Spring’s head or shoulder.

Spring is 9.5″ tall (base to bird).

Speaking of Birds

I was thrilled to learn that my pair of Blue Birds were featured on the blog Blue Morning Expressions. Thanks to Julie for the feature. The Blue Birds are available for purchase (separately or together) from my ArtFire Studio.

3 thoughts on “Welcome Spring!

  1. Amy, your talent is shining brightly in this new series of art dolls. Love your “Spring” totem, especially his awesome birdy friend. Congrats on the feature!

  2. I love Spring.. and the little bird.. adorable. I just want to flick it so it bounces around. Face expression is cool. Congrats on the feature.

Leave a Reply

