Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit

Piggy Ornament

4 Comments

Last year I made a few Santa and Snowman ornaments for the holiday shows. Those ornaments were made over used light bulbs. You can see them on my ArtFire studio page. The Santa ornament became a class I taught at Ink About It earlier this month.

This year I pulled out a box of glass ornaments that have been in my studio closet for…well, a long time it seems. This is a familiar routine because each year I pull them off the shelf, stare at them, tell myself that I either create something with them or donate them to Freecycle.

They usually go back on the shelf, you know, cause I really might make something with them.

And guess what? I DID IT!

Introducing Piggy O

Piggy O is made from custom colored polymer clay and sculpted over a flat glass ornament. She is hand sanded, buffed, and given a patina for an aged look.

And she even has a curly tail.

I’ve sketched out a few more ornament ideas, including a cat, of course. Now to get them made in time for my final holiday show at ArtSpace in Maynard (12/3, 12/4 and 12/5.)

(Inspiration for Piggy O comes from the wonderfully imaginative art of Doreen Kassel)

4 thoughts on “Piggy Ornament

  1. Little Miss Piggy O is adOrable… Animals are always a hit, it seems.

  2. Pingback: Christmas Cat Ornaments « Musings from the Moonroom

  3. Your ornaments are very cool! Happy Holidays Amy!

Leave a Reply

