Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit

Inspire Me Baby!

4 Comments

Inspire Me Baby! is a new feature on my blog. In these posts I’ll share my inspiration for certain pieces of art I’m creating.

Today’s inspiration comes from our veggie garden, specifically the Bibb lettuce that is bolting in all this heat. When I walked into the garden, I was immediately drawn to the bolting lettuce; its size and shape. Quick, grab the camera to capture the idea.

Top shot of the lettuce

Bolting Lettuce Front

Bolting Lettuce Back

Naturally, for me, I immediately saw inspiration for an art doll; something with a loopy, wavy bodice.

But before following that stream of thought, I decided to sketch the lettuce. I printed out the pictures above, sketched what I saw, and then colored it with water soluble oil pastels and colored pencils. In the process I remembered how much fun it is to sketch and color.

Bolt 7/12/10

Now I’m thinking I may play with the digital images in Photoshop and make a three or four panel piece using the various images and then engineering an art doll inspired by the whole lot.

Stay tuned.

Inspire me baby!

4 thoughts on “Inspire Me Baby!

  1. Great drawing, Amy! That will inspire a way cool art doll. 🙂

    • Hi Karen and Paula,

      Thanks for the compliments. Now I’m trying to figure out the filter effects in Photoshop Elements for the next phase of my idea. The filters are trippy.

  2. I LOVE your idea! 🙂

  3. I bet the lettuce is delish.. Love the sketch.

Leave a Reply

