Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit


3 Comments

The Beebles Are Coming…

I’ve been offline these last few days as I am getting ready for the Paradise City Arts Festival, March 19-21, at the Royal Plaza Trade Center in Marlboro. I’m looking forward to exhibiting at this location because it will introduce my artwork to a new customer base and it is less than 30 minutes from my home!

My goal this week is to post some of the new work that I’ll be bringing to the show.

Introducing the Beebles

The Beebles made their “soft” debut at a small art show last December. It was a good place to present them and gauge customer reaction.

At that time, their working name was “Bulbies” which many people found hard to pronounce. (A frequent mispronunciation was “bubbies.”) The name wasn’t a success but reaction to these tiny sculptures was positive.

My inspiration for the Beebles is the Japanese netsuke. Netsuke are small sculptural objects or toggles worn to suspend objects hung from the sash of the kimono.

In my interpretation, the Beebles are formed over used nightlight bulbs. This is my way of upcycling an item that would end up in the landfill. Beebles, therefore, are good for the environment and a great way to start your art collection!

The Beebles

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers