Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit

MRI Update

2 Comments

Just a quick post. I received my MRI results today. I was surprised to learn that I have a small disc bulge at L3-L4 and a herniated disc at L4-L5. From what I’ve learned in some brief research, a disc bulge is considered stage 1, a herniated disc is stage 2, and a ruptured disc is considered stage 3 on the damage level.

I’m not sure if this is due to an accident, muscle weakness, muscle misuse, or some combination. (Notice I didn’t say “old age” 🙂 ) Next up is to schedule an appointment with a recommended neurosurgeon for further evaluation and physical therapy.

While I haven’t had the severe pain and irritation, I have had some tingling in my right leg and foot. Of course, after getting my results my back did start to ache a bit more. Darn that power of suggestion!

I’m going to see if I can get a copy of my MRI. I’d love to see the pictures. I’m fascinated with this stuff.

Studio

Work for Paradise City continues. Today I’ve focused mainly on another cat sculpt. No peekie until he is ready for his debut.

2 thoughts on “MRI Update

  1. Hi there,
    Just reading your post about the MRI results. I’m a certified Pilates teacher and I have worked with a lot of folks who have herniated/bulging discs.
    I have posted a few exercises on my own blog that will help you strengthen the small muscles of your lower back. Here’s the link….all the best to you!
    Sherry
    http://personalizingpilates.wordpress.com/

    • Hi Sherry,

      Thank you for sharing your exercises and insight. I’m now in PT and becoming more aware of body mechanics and exercises for strengthening the lower back. Slowly the pain is improving.

      -Amy

Leave a Reply

