Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit

Monday Reflection

Leave a comment

The world calls me great
great but useless
because I am great I am useless
if I were of use
I would have stayed small
but I possess three treasures
I treasure and uphold
first is compassion
second is austerity
third is reluctance to excel
because I am compassionate
I can be valiant
because I am austere
I can be extravagant
because I am reluctant to excel
I can be chief of all tools
if I renounced compassion for valor
austerity for extravagance
reluctance for supremacy
I would die
compassion wins every battle
and outlasts every attack
what Heaven creates
let compassion protect

Tao Te Ching

Leave a Reply

