Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit

Monday Reflection

4 Comments

Today’s quote is provided by Lora Hart.

“You have plenty of courage, I am sure,” answered Oz.
“All you need is confidence in yourself.
There is no living thing that is not afraid  when it faces danger.
The true courage is in facing danger when you
are afraid, and that kind of courage you have in plenty.”

L. Frank Baum

Lora explains why this is her favorite quote:

As artists the most negative feedback we get, which seems to present  the greatest problems for us, is the feedback we give ourselves. The  stories we tell ourselves about how we’re not good enough, we’re not  as talented; innovative or skilled as our current creative crush. The  unhealthy stories we replay from childhood, stories that well meaning advisors repeat or stories that the unknown “they” tell which we give  credence to. The only thing that really holds us back is ourselves. I  know that that is true for me. Whether I call not  submitting for a publication or a teaching engagement or whatever laziness;  forgetfulness; disinterest; lack of time… the real excuse always  boils down to lack of confidence.

About Lora:  I’m a metal clay senior instructor who is trying to activate her creative side.

Lora’s website: Lora Hart

Lora’s blog: Such and Such

Lora Hart (1)

4 thoughts on “Monday Reflection

  1. What a lovely surprise to see myself on your blog this morning Amy. Thanks again for asking. This has been a really eye opening series. So many different perspectives. I’ve really been enjoying it.

  2. What a great quote, Lora…and I love what you said.. I can definitley relate. Thank, Amy for the great idea of the quotes and meanings to others.

  3. I agree with Judy, great quote and I too can totally relate. Thanks Lora for sharing.
    I’m off to check out the rest of the series.

Leave a Reply

