Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit

Monday Reflection

1 Comment

Today’s quote is provided by Paula Hinkson.

Man’s greatest earthly possession is the undemanding love of a wonderful woman.
All men seek it, but only the fortunate find it.
Today, at this point in my life, I find myself amongst the fortunate.

-Author Unknown

Paula explains why this is her favorite quote:

My favorite quote has a story behind it and has been one of my favorites for 30 years. When Doug and I were dating, he wrote this for me on a small piece of paper and handed it to me after taking me home one night. It really touched my heart. I still have it put away somewhere.

Now thirty years later, thinking about what it means is a bit different than it was in 1979. For one, the word “possession” does not sit well with me. πŸ™‚Β  I would guess that whoever wrote it had to be a man, since women used to be considered “possessions.” And I think the quote is a realization to never take love for granted. I loved it back then and I still do. By the way, I couldn’t remember it word for word so I told Doug about your contest and asked him if he remembered the quote. Even after all these years, he wrote it down for me again. Isn’t that sweet?

One thought on “Monday Reflection

  1. Oh my goodness! Thank you so much for posting my quote entry. I know you must have received a lot of great ones. I’m so excited! πŸ™‚

    Love, Paula

Leave a Reply

