Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit

The 37th Day

2 Comments

37-1

It seems hard to believe that I have finally reached Day 37 of the 37 Day Challenge. I awoke this morning asking myself “Is this really Day 37?” What seemed like such a long slog when I started the challenge really has flown by.

So what have I learned about myself during this time?  I’ve learned that

  • when my will is weak it is okay to forgive myself and start over again the next day or even the next hour.
  • when you state your intention to people, you’re more likely to stick with it because you know someone else has your back.
  • inhaling the scent of chocolate is oddly satisfying in order to rein in a craving.
  • deprivation doesn’t make this any easier.
  • I can set a small goal, achieve it, and manifest other improvements along the way.
  • berating myself doesn’t accomplish anything…except perhaps a desire to eat more chocolate!

I want to thank Patti Digh for presenting this challenge to her blog readers. During this time I’ve become more aware of other opportunities to be healthy such as new recipes, cooking shows, and exercise plans. I still love my chocolate and find myself being more selective about eating it. I don’t miss it as much as I did early-on and because of that I can enjoy it much more when I do eat it.

AFTERGLOW

Several days after spending the day with the Dalai Lama, I find that I continue to absorb his words and feel a slight shift in my attitude toward life and other people. I returned to meditation on Monday and am setting an intention to return to meditation on a regular basis, even if it is only for 5 minutes. (Hey, there’s another challenge for the next 37 Days.) The simple act of calming the mind and breathing does wonders for preparing me for the day ahead.

If you missed it in the previous post, you can view a report on the Dalai Lama’s visit here.

2 thoughts on “The 37th Day

  1. Congratulations Amy, for making it to Day 37! I applaud you in being more conscious of your sugar intake and food choices and, most importantly, taking good care of yourself. 🙂

  2. Yay..l congrats on the “speedy” 37 days… Your learnings can definitely be applied to my process/progress of just trying to get healthier with eating better and exercising. We need to be good to ourselves… no one is perfect.

Leave a Reply

