Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit

New In The Studio

2 Comments

I apologize for not being online very much this week.  I’ve been focused on other tasks in the studio and blogging has not been as a high priority. However, I wanted to share a few new items in the studio.

A few weeks ago I did a head sculpting demo for some members of the Bolton Artisans Guild.  Here are three heads that the ladies created. What made this really fun was giving them some basic guidance and then watching them jump right in to create their unique head sculpts.

natncarolsclayheads

These heads have an aluminum foil core which was covered with Super Sculpey.  I haven’t used this particular brand of polymer clay very much and I did like its ease of use. It is soft yet not mushy.

I also made a head and finished it later by antiquing it with acrylic paint. The eyes, eyebrows, and lips are painted. I used some techniques from Jodi and Richard Creager’s sculpting DVD for this head. I think I’ve found another passion in sculpting. These heads are between 2″ and 3″ in length.

lgheadsculpt

This next piece is a new idea that I’m working on and is inspired by the stick dolls we made as kids.

freetbrushmessengers

Fit for a Queen

Last Saturday, my dear friend Judy and I picked up a chair for my studio.  I mentioned in a previous post that I was slowly redoing my studio and that I now had space for a reading chair.  The chair I originally saw at Still Life Consignment sold. However, at Still Life Consignment I found an even better chair. This one is bigger and a nicer color. I think it is fit for a Queen. And if not a Queen, then certainly a Pippin.

newchair1 newchair2

When Pippin isn’t making himself comfortable in the chair, I’ve enjoyed it while reading or working on assignments in my Uplevel Your Life Mastery Program. It is really nice to have a dedicated reading spot in the studio now. The chair faces the front windows.  When I look up from the chair, I first see my meditation area and then out the window into the front yard.

Tomorrow, another dear friend, Karen and I are traveling to Gillette Stadium in Foxboro to hear two lectures by His Holiness the Dalai Lama. I’ve wanted to see the Dalai Lama for several years. I even put a picture of him on my spiritual vision board and tomorrow this dream will be fulfilled.

2 thoughts on “New In The Studio

  1. Hi Amy,
    I love your new sculpted heads, especially the one with blue eyes and pink lips. Marvelous!
    What a comfy looking chair! How wonderful to have a cozy spot for reading and meditating. A dreaming spot of your own.

  2. Those sculpted heads are wonderful, Amy ! And what great find that chair is ! Pippin seems to approve of your purchase. Ever notice that cats are always the first to claim any new furniture??

Leave a Reply

