Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit

Day 18

4 Comments

number18-11

Wow! Can it be that I’ve reached the almost half way point (18.5 days really) in the 37 Day challenge?

Would you believe I had to count on the calendar to find the half way point? Seriously; the first few days were hard and now it seems that the days are just moving along. I realized I needed to find the half way point and check in.

If you’re just joining us, I’ll briefly explain what this is all about. Patti Digh put forth a challenge to her blog readers to participate in a 37 Day challenge. A challenge to do one small thing for 37 days; something small, doable, actionable.  And the only person your responsible to is yourself.

My challenge is to reduce the amount of sugar in my diet, especially chocolate.

The first few days felt like deprivation because I love chocolate. At one point I even stuck my nose in the candy jar just to inhale the scent of chocolate. Ironically, the next day I read about a guy who has invented a “chocolate inhaler”called Le Whif.

I’ve faced a few challenges during this time: a friend’s birthday party, Easter, dessert indulgences when dining out (why must the French be so good at making desserts?)

I find that my challenge is all about making good decisions.  I know that chocolate and sugar are my Achilles heel. Challenging myself to reduce the amount of sugar in my diet is a way to eat even healthier and to make healthier choices.

During this time my friend Judy has embarked on her own challenge to be “fit by 50” through diet and exercise. You can read her story here. Through her I found SparkPeople, a website that lets you track your food choices and exercise schedule. Though this challenge isn’t about doing multiple things at once, it has prompted me to engage in a little more exercise. This is not to say that exercise is my substitute for consuming sugar. It is to say that by becoming a little more conscious of my food choices, I find that I’m slowly getting back into exercise.

Therefore this challenge has created two positive outcomes: healthier food choices and exercise.

Not bad for only 18 days.

4 thoughts on “Day 18

  1. hi amy! i am visiting from 37days and i can really relate to your post here. the challenge came at an interesting time for me. my birthday is in early march and i had already begun to make some changes, and some commitments to myself, before patti sent out the call. one of the changes i made was to reduce sugar (chocolate, really) and try to eliminate coffee. the other was to do some yoga every day. i haven’t done all of this perfectly. i’ve had slips with the diet. i’ve had days when the yoga just didn’t get done. but for the most part i have stuck to the deal. and these small changes have led to other healthy changes in my life. and i’m happy at achieving progress, if not perfection.

    • Hi Jylene,

      Congratulations on your achievements in your challenge. I think you’ve hit the nail on the head and that is to not get hung up on perfection. If we can accept that we will falter sometimes, it makes the process a little easier. We’re human afterall.

      Thanks for visiting. I wish you continued success with your challenge.

      -Amy

  2. Hi Amy,

    I’m a fellow challenger stopping by to say hello and Excellent Job! It’s interesting how a relatively simply act of choosing one thing to commit to can trigger other events, happenings, epiphanies.

    I laughed out loud when I read the part about you smelling the chocolate.

    And, I recognized the rise in obstacles that seem to pop up to test our resolve.

    Do you live in France…? Just wondering. If you swing by my place, you’ll see that I have a dream of living in France one day.

    Keep up the good work. I have a feeling my visits will become a habit very soon.

    Carolynn

    • Hi Carolyn,

      Thanks for the support. I agree that a simple change in one area of our lives does have a trickle-down affect. No, I don’t live in France though I visited Paris in 2005. And I’m going to Southern France this summer for an art workshop. I do love French restaurants both stateside and in Europe.

      Glad you enjoyed your visit to my blog. I hope to ‘see’ you again.

      Amy

Leave a Reply

