Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit

Day 8 of 37

12 Comments

8ball1

Today is day 8 of my 37 day challenge. A week ago today I decided to reduce the amount of sugar in my diet. This has mainly focused on sweet treats and candy that I love to eat as a snack or for dessert, especially chocolate.

The first few days went well though I wondered if, in my quest to decrease the amount of sugar, I was instead replacing sweets with salty treats. When I last wrote about this challenge I’d recently stuck my nose in the candy jar and inhaled the chocolate smell from the candies. That alone was enough to satisfy my craving at the time.

My dedication to this challenge over the weekend faltered. It started on Saturday when I had an organic chocolate toaster pastry for breakfast. Granted it had “organic sugar” and not the usual corn syrup or high fructose corn syrup content. But my decision had been made and I ate it. About an hour or so later I felt exhausted. Is it possible to start eliminating sugar only to re-introduce it and have it fatigue you? I mean only 6 days had passed. Was this my body reacting to the chocolate toaster pastry?

Or was it the fact that we’d been to see Tower of Power on Friday night and didn’t get to bed till after midnight on Saturday morning? Perhaps it was a combination of both.

Later in the day my dance with chocolate and sugar continued when we had a cup of hot chocolate after returning from errands. Again, this was an organic chocolate and sugar mix. But chocolate is chocolate and sugar is sugar (this was not stevia or anything like that.)

It really tasted good but an hour or so later my body had another reaction. Hmm….

I knew Saturday would continue to be a challenge as we were attending the 60th birthday party for our friend Bruce. I knew there would be a birthday cake. Sure enough, the batter was half chocolate, half white. And oh the white frosting and frosting balloons. Yes, this too tasted good.

Sunday I again felt exhausted and had to take a nap in the afternoon. Another late night on Saturday plus a bit more sugar than I’d had in recent days.Β  Coincidence? Who knows.

What I do know is that there are certain days of the month when being without sugary sweets is much more challenging than other days of the month.

So Sunday, day 7, was my day to regroup and get back on with the plan. Today I faltered slightly with a chocolate chip coconut cookie (blast those Keebler Elves!)

Is it bad to say that I’m not feeling terribly guilty as I know these days will happen? These are choices I’m making so the only person I’m cheating on is myself and my commitment to the challenge. As someone once said you simply “dust yourself off and start all over again.”

12 thoughts on “Day 8 of 37

  1. I’m wondering if there is a connection between sugar and feeling tired. I wonder if that’s my problem.

    Keep trying. You are inspiring me to try and see if I can go with sugar.

    • Hi Susan,

      I’m sure if I can do this so can you! Moderation is the key and also understanding why you crave or eat certain foods. Sometimes I have to ask myself that question (why am I eating this) especially if it might be in reaction to something else or when I’m not really hungry. Thanks for the encouragement. I appreciate it.

      -Amy

  2. Amy,

    My heart goes out to you. Me, who’s been shoveling jolly ranchers, peppermint kisses and chocolate day after day quivered when I saw your challenge. In the past, when I did this, I found when I was off the sweets, it wasn’t so bad and my body didn’t crave them. But the minute I put chocolate or some other sugar source in my mouth – it was over! Good luck – I’m routing for you!

    • Hi Janice,

      Oh man you’re making me salivate : )
      I’ve heard that once you’re off something like sweets the cravings can diminish. Sometimes it is a mind over matter process. I don’t know if I’ll drop chocolate completely. I tried carob once years ago and that was NOT the same as chocolate. Thanks for your support. I appreciate it.

      -Amy

  3. Amy,

    I too, have tried to cut back on sweets recently. After failing miserably, I stopped feeling guilty and several months ago bought a bag of those bite size DOVE dark chocolates. Knowing that dark chocolate is suppossed to be good for you (in moderation), I decided to allow myself two or three pieces a day. I’ve noticed since then, sometimes I have only one. Like you, my cravings depend on the time of the month. I used to think nothing of eating a whole candy bar, so I think I’m doing really well. And I don’t feel deprived in the least.
    I don’t know about you, but I don’t think I could COMPLETELY cut out chocolate from my diet. πŸ™‚
    Good luck to you!

    • Hi Paula,

      Good to hear from you. I love those DOVE dark chocolate candies! I agree that moderation is key. Congratulations on your change in diet. Thanks for the support. I appreciate it.

      -Amy

  4. Good luck! I believe it will come back t you, My aunt once reduced by half her daily amount of sugar and she lost a lot of weight(I don’t remember by numbers) and she look like a whole different person, a prettier and happier person.

  5. Hi Amy,

    Congratulations on making it to day 8 of your reduced sugar challenge! That is definitely a tough one to stay with. I wish you good thoughts and the best of luck in your continued efforts to eat healthier.
    As I look at my own daily routine, I see brown sugar in my oatmeal (plain oatmeal? egads!), organic sugar in my morning yogurt and fro-yo snack at night. I don’t have candy that often but do love my Ben & Jerry’s fro-yo. If I have more than the normal amount of daily sugar because someone at work brings in goodies, I do notice that crash. It’s an awful feeling.
    I don’t like completely denying myself though so I try to find a happy medium. That said, however, I bring my food to work with me everyday so I’m restricted in what I can eat. If I worked at home, it would be so much harder to stick with it. Then again, you can just not buy anything made by the Keebler elves. πŸ˜‰

    • Hi Karen,

      Thanks for the encouragement. I agree, this sometimes feels like deprivation. However, my intent is that this will also help me improve some of my eating habits and change others for the better. In some ways it also makes me really appreciate the sweets when I do have them.

      -Amy

  6. Good luck, Amy ! I can absolutely relate to what you’re going through. I understand those sugar cravings very well……I’m sure that consuming sugar has negative effects on me, although the effect isn’t dramatic enough to curb the cravings. It’s really difficult to pin down the source of vague feelings like fatigue, tiredness, and ‘brain fog’. Nighttime is when my cravings are the worst, and I have repeated ‘visions of sugarplums dancing in my head’….Knowing that the cravings are not triggered by actual hunger doesn’t seem to help much, since I still can’t figure out what does trigger them…But it helps to know that other people struggle with this. Of course, there are always those who have succeeded in conquering their sugar cravings, and walk around with a smug attitude, which makes me want to shove a piece of chocolate cake in their face, LOL !

    • Hi Dora,

      Hmm, I know what you mean about those vague cravings. Some say it could be boredom, anxiety, a vitamin deficiency, not eating enough “stick with you” food. I hope you might someday come to understand your cravings. It can be frustrating indeed.

      -Amy

Leave a Reply

