Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit

Power Objects

2 Comments

A recent passage in Shakti Gawain’s book Awakening described power objects.  Power objects are those items that we are drawn to while we walk.  You know what happens.  You’re out walking, looking around, and something on the ground catches your eye.  It could be a stone, a leaf, a stick, a pinecone.  Sometimes you pick it up, look at it, and toss it back to the ground.  Sometimes you pick it up, and for whatever reason, you place the item in your pocket or backpack.

Those items that we pick up and really examine are somehow meaningful to us.  Those are our power objects.

Here are two items I picked up on a walk last week:

This was a whole rock that split into two pieces.  It was laying off the road in the sand just as you see it here, in two pieces side-by-side.  It reminded me of angel wings (or perhaps a pair of lungs?????)  As a pair of wings, it reminds me that angels are all around us.  As a pair of lungs, it reminds me to take a deep, cleansing breath now and again.

     

I’m not sure what drew me to this stick.  I liked the smooth surface and the two tiny branches.  It looks like it has weathered several New England storms.  What I found really neat was the worm or bug trail that is etched into the surface of the stick.  It looks like some ancient code or symbol from a long dead culture.  Of course I also thought “what a neat body this stick would make for a sculpture.” 🙂

What objects catch your eye when you take a walk through your neighborhood or through the woods?  Have you discovered any power objects?

 

2 thoughts on “Power Objects

  1. I love bug trails, too. I just hope they had all moved out when you brought in the stick!
    If you visit my flickr site, all the fabric samples were made directly from nature photos. I don’t remember all the sources, now, but the bold blue/green ones were from a photo of fungus on a dead branch, resting in some green Vinca. …Harriet

  2. Hi Harriet,

    Yes, best as I can tell, any bugs have long vacated this branch.

    Your fabric samples were great. Thanks for sharing.

    -Amy

Leave a Reply

