Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit


3 Comments

The Power of Intent

Before each show I tend to set a goal regarding sales revenue.  I know this can lead to disappointment; I’ve been disappointed on many an occasion.  Depending on the show I may set low expectations, high expectations, or no expectation (why stress out even more, right?)

When I exhibited at Paradise City this past May, I went in with no expectations.  My goal was to gain exposure, get my name and my work out there, introduce my art dolls to a new audience, and hopefully make a few sales.  I did not expect to cover expenses.  In today’s art world economy that doesn’t always happen.

With this fall show, however, I took a different approach.

You may be familiar with the Law of Attraction or the power of intent or vibrational energy.  There is also a movie, The Secret, that explains this belief.  Essentially the belief is that if you want or desire something and if you focus your energy on that want or desire, you can achieve it.

I was not familiar with any of this until sometime after I experienced my aura/chakra reading.  As I increased my awareness of my surroundings, I began to read more about the Law of Attraction.

Anyways, in the weeks leading up to this past weekend’s show, I set an intention; a revenue goal.  I also set an intention to attract people into my booth who would enjoy my art; understand and appreciate my art.  I visualized people in my booth.  I visualized people buying my work.  And then I went to the show with all this positive energy in my head.

I have to tell you that it worked.  Here are some of the more significant things that happened.

  • One woman purchased a Chakra energy angel for her spiritual teacher.
  • One woman bought my Shaman spirit messenger for her son, a medical doctor, who studied Shamanism with the Navajo.
  • One person bought a pyramid vessel to use as an urn for her deceased brother’s ashes.  This happened on the same day that another artist friend and I talked about using my vessels for just this purpose.
  • Another person returned on the last day to purchase two friendship bowls.  We had talked extensively the day before about Ireland, the Scots, and Scotland, which was the inspiration for the friendship bowls.
  • A man I greeted as he entered my booth proceeded to tell me that it didn’t matter what I said (as I gave him my little sales pitch, describing my work) that if someone wants to buy, they’ll buy.  He didn’t feel that giving information about our art work had any impact on someone making a purchase.  He had this really negative energy about him and it left me feeling lousy.  After he left I closed my eyes and tried to cleanse, in my mind, my booth of his negative energy.  Shortly after that two ladies walked into my booth who were breaths of fresh air and who were very complimentary about my art.  The energy was much better after that.

It was pointed out to me by another person in the last hour or two of the show that I was still energized.  We were talking about the chakras and energy and doing what you love.  It struck me that she was right.  I wasn’t tired like I usually am on the last day of a show.  I felt quite energetic right through the time I broke down my booth at the end of the day and headed home. 

It had to be the positive energy.  It had to be the power of intent.  It had to be the law of attraction.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers