Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit

Silence the Ding

2 Comments

I’m busy working away in the studio in preparation for the Paradise City Art Festival.  In order to keep myself from being too distracted by outside noises I instituted one new habit this week that has made a major difference in my ability to get work done.

I silenced the ding (i.e. the bell) on my email.

What a difference this makes in my productivity.  I’d never thought about silencing the email ding before.  Bruce Baker mentioned it in his interview with Allison Lee on Craftcast.  Then I read about doing this in an article in the United Airlines magazine Hemispheres.

Talk about having a Homer Simpson “Doi” moment.

With the computer living in my studio, the email ding was just part of the environmental noise.  I just didn’t realize how very distracting it was to me, even when there is music playing in the background.

So yesterday off went the ding. 

At first I missed the little bugger.  I could still hear him in my head “Hey, I’m here, Ding, come read your email.”  But today has been pure bliss. 

2 thoughts on “Silence the Ding

  1. Great idea, Amy. What a simple thing to do to maintain your focus.
    I didn’t know you could have a “ding” when you got new mail. Since I get my e-mail directly from a website and not through a mail program, I don’t think I have a “ding”. Now, how do I hide my computer? 🙂

    -Karen

  2. Hmm, funny things those computers. You try to avoid them and they keep popping up. And most of them can’t be “accidentally” dropped down the toilet. How about hanging a black cloth over your computer with a large sign that says “Do Not Touch?” Where is that Harry Potter invisibility cloak when you need it? -Amy

Leave a Reply

