Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit

Enthusiasm

2 Comments

Some believe that certain things come into our lives just when we need them.  Ever since I had my aura and chakra reading I’ve been trying to pay more attention to my surroundings; the sights I pass while driving, the words I read and the words people speak, the people I meet, the music I hear, and the critters in the yard.  There are messages all around us, some more obvious than others.  And if we open ourselves up to our surroundings, these messages will become clearer.

Everyday, I read a passage from the book Awakening: A Daily Guide to Conscious Living by Shakti Gawain.  And some of the passages have been quite timely.  Today’s passage resonates with me and I wanted to share it with you.

Enthusiasm

Enthusiasm is a quality that arises naturally from the flow of the life force within us, carrying us toward new experiences and discoveries.  For many, this quality was squelched in childhood when we were not allowed or encouraged to follow our spontaneous creative impulses.  We can begin to cultivate our enthusiasm by trusting and following our intuitive feelings, exploring new experiences, and doing things that we truly love to do.

I remember being quite creative as a child; writing plays and then acting out those plays; playing dress-up, drawing, and painting and making up games.  And then, somewhere along the way, society (mom, dad, school, etc) steps in and tells us to start acting like a young adult, an adult, a mature adult.

And we forget how to play.

We forget our spontaneity.

We forget our creativity.

If you’re feeling a little out of sorts today, perhaps it is because you need to remember how to play and to honor your creativity.  We have a long holiday weekend approaching.  I challenge you to get a box of crayons and a coloring book and color outside the lines (or just scribble on a piece of paper.)  Build something with Legos.  Play with finger paints.  Try walking on your hands.  Build a card house and then knock it down.

Whatever you do, today, tomorrow, with the rest of your life, do it with enthusiasm and honor the child inside.

2 thoughts on “Enthusiasm

  1. Hi Amy, Thank you for your wonderful post which reminds me of all of the fun things I loved to do when I was young. Just like you, I loved writing plays and acting in them. My parents have a photo they took of me at age 8 with my brothers. I had dressed everybody up and put makeup on our faces. Playing legos as a child and also with my children when they were young. We used to build houses for grasshoppers. Fingerpainting in kindergarten. When I think of all of those things, I can physically feel this wonderful swelling enthusiasm inside for how much fun all of those activities were. I have some others for you. Skipping rope. Blowing bubbles. Running through the sprinkler. Watching fireflies. I’m visiting with my nephews, ages 7 and 4, tomorrow. We’re going to color and play with Makins clay!
    -Karen

  2. Hi Karen,

    Those are wonderful memories. I hope you had fund with coloring and playing with your nephews. I’m always intrigued with how kids play and create; they know no boundaries, no limitations; who cares if orange doesn’t look great with lime green; they just go for it. Here’s hoping we all remember that ability to jump right in without inhibition!

    Thanks for sharing. -Amy

Leave a Reply

