Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit

The Journey

1 Comment

Have you ever had aspects about yourself revealed that you knew were true but didn’t want to believe or accept?  I’ve recently experienced this through a very interesting avenue.  Last week, I had an Aura and Chakra reading at the Center at Westwoods.

Now what is an “aura and chakra reading” you might ask.  First, lets define aura and chakras.  An aura is a subtle-energy field surrounding humans.  In Sanskrit this energy field is called kosas meaning body sheaths.  The word aura comes from the Greek avra meaning breeze. Other terms to describe the human energy field are universal life force, prana, or chi.

Chakras are also energy centers associated with specific organs and endocrine glands in the body.  The word chakra comes from the Sanskrit meaning wheel or disk.  The traditional Hindu system names seven major chakras: root, sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, third eye, and crown.  Each chakra is associated with a particular color.

So, essentially, I had my energy fields read.  For this reading I placed my left hand, palm-side down, on a small black box with silver disks on the top surface which appeared to correspond to the segments on my fingers.  The thumb rests on the side of the box also on top of silver disks.  The box is attached to a computer.  Your energy fields appear on the computer screen.  You breathe and relax and let the machine take a reading. 

What I learned is that I have a chameleon aura.  I have energy bouncing all over the place.  I pick up energy from sources around me; the computer, the lights, cars passing by, someone’s voice.  That probably explains why, somedays, I feel tired at night even though I didn’t necessarily have an overly active day.

My strongest chakra color is green (the heart chakra) which is indicative of communication, creativity, logic, balance, and being social.  That explains my love of art, creative activities and nature.

So how does placing your hand on a black box with silver disks translate into a journey?  Because I learned that while I love to share advice I don’t always follow it myself.  I’m sure you’re familiar with the phrase “practice what you preach.”  Well, when you don’t always follow your own advice (practice what you preach) certain energy centers are thrown out of balance.   All those steps I shared to help you achieve balance I don’t always follow myself.  Now I will try to be better about this.

And what does any of this have to do with art and creativity?  Quite a bit actually.  When I’m out of balance, my creativity drops.  I can’t focus or concentrate.  If my studio gets too messy, I can’t think creatively because of all the clutter.  The energy is blocked.  Creativity stagnates.  And if I don’t engage in something I love, I feel sad and a little depressed.

So now I begin a journey to take care of myself, to balance my energy fields, and strengthen those areas that need more development.  Perhaps it will point me in another creative direction or open me to greater creativity.  Only time will tell.

One thought on “The Journey

  1. Hi Amy, It sounds like you have entered a deeper level of self-discovery on your creative journey. Are you familiar with the more ancient version of the Persephone myth? It is not the traditional tale told of Hades kidnapping her but the one where she hears a call through a crack in the earth and follows her intuition down into the depths of the underworld. You would probably enjoy reading it. -Karen

Leave a Reply

