Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit

Share This!

8 Comments

It is the month of December and that means many people are blogging about goals and planning for 2010. Here are some blog posts on these very topics that I enjoyed this past week:

Itchy Goals

I loved Sarah Marie Lacy’s revelation on why goals make her itch. It is wonderful when we have these a-ha moments. Does the thought of setting goals make you itch? Read Sarah’s story here.

Consistent Creativity & Productivity

When I read Charlie Gilkey’s post on what he calls our “engagement threshold” and how this impacts our ability to be creative on a consistent basis, I felt like he was describing exactly what I go through. You know, the time it takes us to make meaningful progress on anything and how we don’t make progress because we don’t have enough time to “get into it.”

This is a great post for anyone who feels they just don’t have the time to start a project or to continue a project because of limited time. Read it here.

Strategic Planning for Creative Types

Lisa Sonora-Beam, author of The Creative Entrepreneur shares her plan for creating a very personal strategic planner. I agree with Lisa that most planners found in stores are boring. And if the planner is boring (basic brown anyone?), will you really be drawn to it and use it? In this post, Lisa shares the first in a several week series on creating your own planner, including writing prompts to assist you in thinking about goals, intentions, and/or plans for 2010. Read Lisa’s post here

Celebrate Your 2009 Accomplishments

December is the month when many people look back at what they accomplished during the year. Often we know we did stuff but we end up saying to ourselves “What did I do this year?” as if we can’t recall a darn thing.

Alyson Stanfield, author of I’d Rather Be in the Studio, offers some wonderful prompts to get you thinking and reflecting on this past year. I started this practice after taking Alyson’s Blast Off class online. I created a document in Word and each month I type in everything I did that month, big and small. It is a great way to review the year and say “Wow! I did all that?!” Read Alyson’s post here

Take Time to Pause

Finally, in the rush-rush hubbub of this season, Kathyrn Antyr of True North Arts reminds us that it is essential to take a break during all the craziness. When we take time to pause, in the words of Pema Chodron, we create “a momentary contrast between being completely self-absorbed and being awake and present.”

Kathryn was inspired to reflect on pausing and prayer as part of an art day and the season of Advent. Her post also includes some wonderful prayer inspired activities such as making prayer beads, a prayer journal and a prayer box. Take some time to pause and read Kathyrn’s post here.

And remember to pause not only this month, during the rush-rush and hubbub, but everyday.

8 thoughts on “Share This!

  1. Amy: This is a great list! So much valuable information here that I need to tweet it. I appreciate your including me here. I love that you write your accomplishments each month. That makes the end-of-the-year thing much easier.

  2. Wow I am honoured to be a part of such a great list!

    These are seriously awesome links. I didn’t see the one by Lisa Sonora Beam, but I am totally going to read that one now because I need a personal planner, but don’t want one that bores me to tears. I am duly intrigued ;)

    Thank you for rounding these gems up!

    • Hi Sarah,

      Glad you enjoyed the list of links. Lisa has written a couple of good informative posts on preparing for the new year. I hope you enjoy the one on creating a personal planner.

      Happy New Year!

      -Amy

  3. Now is the time to review every last aspect of: you, your art & your art studio’s business for this closing year. Think about the direction that these three are going to go in 2010. Now plan how you are going to get there. Perhaps by doing only Two things new/better/different each and every day?

  4. I write down my goals in a 2010 goals booklet. It is always in my wallet and I review it regularly. It keeps me focused on what really matters to me.

    Enjoy and share,
    Ronny

    • Hi Ronny,

      That is a pretty cool idea and a great way to remind yourself of your goals. I’m sure it helps with motivation too. I’m going to share that link on Twitter.

      Thanks,

      -Amy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers