Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit

Monday Reflection

Leave a comment

Today’s quote is provided by Melanie Dilday

It is one of the most beautiful compensations of life,
that no man can sincerely try to help another
without helping himself.

-Lao Tzu

Melanie explains why this is her favorite quote:

What I particularly like about this saying is that it invites people to help others…and see for themselves what these ‘beautiful compensations’ are. I
also love his use of the word ‘sincerely’…a very important distinction. We live in a world where most of the population lives in fear of losing what
they have…everyone’s holding tight…there is a  ‘me/mine/not-yours’ mentality that pervades our society… and we are killing the world with our
greed and fear. If everyone practiced giving and helping, the me/mine mentality would fall away by itself…and the ‘beautiful compensation’ could
very well be that we save the planet.

The reason why I love teaching and running an online forum is that it’s genuine. It’s helping from the heart. I find it so uplifting and so wonderful to be sharing what I love with other people. Without doubt, whatever I have given has come back to me tenfold! I have made amazing friendships, learned so much, can call on any number of people for support when I need it myself and my heart is overflowing all as a result of helping others. Beautiful compensations indeed!

Melanie’s blog: Clay Happenings

Melinstudiocropped

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers