Musings from the Moonroom

Thoughts on Art, Inspiration, Creativity and Spirit


8 Comments

Tuesday’s Business: What is Success?

This post is prompted by a possibility that the universe brought to me.  A possibility to significantly increase my wholesale business.  And in the course of conversation with various people, a question was also presented to me:

What is success?

Ironically, when I was listening to an Eric Maisel podcast last week, Maisel said the following:

Success is not a measure but a feeling.

These words have made me pause and have factored into my decision making process regarding this situation.

Each one of us, potentially, has a different definition of success.  It might be defined monetarily.  It might be defined by the size of your house or by a job title.  However, Maisel’s definition of success opens up many more possibilities.

If success is a feeling and not a measure, then success can come from that great dinner you made on Sunday, from playing with your kids, or from the wonderful construction idea you developed for your newest piece of art.

It can come from any accomplishment, small or large.

I think where we getted tripped up as a society and as individuals is not recognizing, not acknowledging, the small things we do everyday.  Did you empty the dishwasher?  Congratulations to you!  Did you take a baby step toward an overall goal? Excellent, pat yourself on the back.  Did you get out of bed without tossing your alarm clock?  Woo-hoo!

Sound silly?  I thought so too…until I realized that if I don’t, if we don’t acknowledge the small things we achieve every day who will?

Is it possible to get carried away with this approach?  Maybe, but I bet you’ll have fun doing it.  Think of it as a form of self-care.

As I’ve been contemplating this possibility, I’ve taken time to reflect on my accomplishments and feelings of success.  This has helped me to define what success means to me and what it means for my business.  And it definitely factors into my decision making process.

I’ve asked myself and now I ask you: Are you feeling successful?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers